Information on:

University of Maryland Athletic Hall of Fame

University of Maryland Athletic Hall of Fame
2707 Comcast Center

The Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1982 by the M Club Foundation as a joint project with the Athletic Department. The founding Selection Committee members were then Athletic Director Dick Dull; coaches Bill Campbell, Jack Faber, Al Heagy, Jim Kehoe, Sully Krouse and Doyle Royal; letter-winners Bosey Berger and Jack Scarbath; Alumni representative Art Kramer; and Sports Information Director Jack Zane.

The first Induction Ceremony took place in December 1982 at the M Club's 35th Annual Sports Awards Banquet. The charter class of inductees included Bosey Berger, Curley Byrd, Arthur Cook, Geary Eppley, Billy Guckeyson, Charlie Keller, and Burt Shipley. Baseball's Hall of Famer, Brooks Robinson, was the recipient of our Distinguished Citizen Award.

The Hall of Fame pays tribute to those superior Terp athletes, coaches and administrators who have made major contributions to the honor and fame of the University, and have continued to demonstrate the positive values learned through competing in intercollegiate sports. This award is the highest honor the University can bestow on former athletes.

Among the qualifications for men and women nominees are: (1) being out of school at least ten years (fifteen for coaches/administrators); (2) a record of superior athletic achievements; and (3) having a good character and reputation, and not a source of embarrassment in any way to the University.

The Selection Committee consists of thirteen members, including five permanent members: the Athletics Director or designee, the Athletics Council Chair, and the M Club's President, Executive Director and Historian as well as eight at-large members (four selected by the Athletics Director and four selected by the M Club). All members must have a strong understanding of Terps athletics. They must meet annually to elect a maximum of six (6) inductees. Anyone may propose candidates using forms provided by the M Club.

In 2004, the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony became a separate event. It is now the University's premier attraction for honoring its greatest athletic achievers. Included in the awards ceremony is the naming of our Distinguished Citizen and electing new Honorary M Club members.

University of Maryland Athletic Hall of Fame is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media